Snorkeling at Great Barrier Reef, Queensland, Australia

Snorkeling at Great Barrier Reef was high on my list of ‘things to do in Australia’. I know most people go for diving, but to me that seems too complicated, too risky. Just not my thing. Snorkeling on the other hand I love. I snorkeled in Florida and in Mexico before and loved both experiences. For this trip I booked with Ocean Safari. That turned out to be an excellent choice.

The organization picked us up right at our camping in the morning and dropped us off – by boat – at our camping’s beach in the early afternoon. We all got a sunsuit (snorkeling is very risky in terms of sunburn!) and had the opportunity to snorkel at two different locations. Both were breathtakingly beautiful. Some guys from Ocean Safari went into the water with us and pointed out starfish, turtles and bright and colorful fish. If you’d like to go snorkeling on Australlia’s East Coast and you don’t know yet where to go, consider the Great Barrier Reef in the vicinity of Cape Tribulation, and consider going with Ocean Safari. You won’t regret it!