Lisbon Lounge Hostel, Lisbon, Portugal

Are you in Lisbon and looking for a place to stay? Look no longer! The Lisbon Lounge is the place to be. It is a hostel, indeed, but don’t be put off by the label. As I could experience when I was there in autumn 2011, Lisbon Lounge is as clean, nice and welcoming as can be.

I made my booking through Hostelworld and as I always do, I read about the comments previous guests left behind about this hostel. Apart from “it can be noisy at night” – which is the case everywhere you decide to stay in a city center – everybody was very positive. And with reason. Upon arrival I was warmly greeted by a girl that spoke perfect English, she showed me my room – bed already made, big locker, very clean – and told me the hostel organized a visit to a Fade place in the evening, which I joined. Always nice when you don’t have to go somewhere on your own! The hostel is in the middle of the old center of Lisbon, so everything is at walking distance anyway.

Before the visit, I had dinner at the hostel. The Lisbon Lounge offers a 10 euro three course meal which is actually delicious. To make it complete a local red wine is included. I couldn’t have eaten any better anywhere else for this price.

Another pleasant surprise where the toilets and showers. I stayed two nights in the Lisbon Lounge, and whenever I used the sanitary block, it was always clean. It was as if it had been cleaned mere minutes ago.

Not yet convinced? Well let me add then that there are pancakes at breakfast – which is free. Pancakes! And somebody who does the dishes for you. And for people that don’t like dorms they also offer single and double rooms, everything at very reasonable prices. I know where I’ll be staying at my next visit to Lisbon!