O Mexilhão, Sines, Portugal

One of my first outings during my stay in Portugal in 2011 was to Sines. I took the bus from Santiago do Cacém and it delivered me right in the center of Sines. I didn’t really had a fixed plan – no travel guide, no must-see’s – so I just wandered around a bit. Around lunchtime I saw the terrace of O Mexilhão and decided to have seafood lunch there. I went for mussels in a preparation I didn’t know, but they turned out to be very good. As was the wine. In general I’m not too fond of Portuguese white wines, but on one of the first really hot days of the year I liked the white house wine a lot. Also the molotoff for desert (I know it doesn’t look very appetizing, but believe me: it tastes very well… for sugar lovers!) and the typical, traditional small strong coffee tasted as they should taste. In general: nothing special, but good quality food, close to the sea.