Lac Rose (Pink Lake), Senegal

The Lac Rose or Pink Lake is one of the classics when visiting Senegal. You can bathe there, floating on the salt-filled water. I skipped the bathing part, but I got up very early the next morning (we slept in a hotel next to the lake) to see the sun rise. The colors were absolutely stunning. It was very quiet, the locals pushing there little boats on the water from the other side, too far away for me to hear. There were nothingness and beautiful skies with great reflections, and the most amazing colors when the sun climbed slowly to her spot high in the sky. I’m not a morning person at all, but I’m very happy I got out of bed to see this.

SenegalB 274 (Medium) SenegalB 287 (Medium) SenegalB 288 (Medium)SenegalB 291 (Medium) SenegalB 293 (Medium) SenegalB 316SenegalB 319 SenegalB 323 SenegalB 336SenegalB 329 SenegalB 330